Book List, What's On My Shelf

What’s On My Shelf Right Now: January 2017

I am planning on doing these “What’s On My Shelf” posts once a month during the first week of the month so that you all can see what to expect to be reviewed in the coming days. Also, I encourage you to comment with what’s on your shelf next to your bed (or just whatever you’re reading at the time) and maybe I’ll check it out and read and review it!

One Minute After You Die by Erwin Lutzer

I’m about 40% through this book about Heaven and am enjoying it so far…though I must say, I believe he exhausted his good idea within the first chapter.

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I have already reviewed the first book in this trilogy here. I am quite excited to begin the second and third books.

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

I am embarking on my first experience of audiobooks. I got my free Audible trial and downloaded a recording of David Copperfield read by Richard Armitage. However, as I already own the book, I have been using the audiobook whenever I can’t read but I still can focus on a book and I have been using the physical book whenever it is not convenient to listen to an audiobook. So far, so good, but this one will probably take me a little while.

Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe

This book is for school and has to be read in the next 2.5 weeks. I have just started it, but I am enjoying it so far.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

“‘After all this time?’

‘Always.’”

The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

I am an enormous fan of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series as well as his Heroes of Olympus series. Several friends have recommended The Kane Chronicles to me, so I checked them out for the library and they currently are sitting on the shelf next to my bed…collecting dust. I’ll read them before they are due back at the library, though, I am sure.

Why Church Matters by Joshua Harris

This is another book for school, but I have a fair length of time in which I can read it.

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

This book popped up on my radar quite recently. Since hearing about it, I have heard nothing but good report after good report about this. So I’ll read through it (it’s about 1,000 pages) and give my review here.

So there is what’s on my shelf right now…comment with what’s on yours!

Leave a Reply

