Book List, What's On My Shelf

“What’s On My Shelf: February 2017”

Well. I finished off five of the books that were on my shelf last month. You’ll see some returning stars on this month’s “What’s On My Shelf” as well as some new ones that have popped up fairly recently.

Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

I started reading this in the last few weeks of January and am almost finished with it now. Standing at a lengthy 600+ pages, it is one of the longest (and only) biographies I have ever read. More on that when I finish and review it.

Dedication and Leadership by Douglas Hyde

This book was given to me to read by a friend. It takes a lot of the principles of communism (not the unethical or immoral ones, of course) and applies them to Christianity. It’s a short read, coming it at around 150 pages, but one that challenges the mind and is very intriguing so far.

Total Church by Tim Chester

This book is for a course I’m currently taking in school. It’s radical, thought-provoking, and wrong about a few things. Overall it’s been a solid read so far—I’m 50% done.

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

Still making progress slowly but surely with this one. Hoping to be done with it by the start of the summer, but we’ll see if that actually happens.

7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Dr. Stephen Covey

This book is a leadership staple. I know very few leaders who have NOT read this book, so I figured it’s about time I dive in to Dr. Covey’s insight as well. Very excited to start this book in a week or two.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

A former New York Times’ #1 bestseller, Ready Player One is almost like a science fiction version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I picked up this book in August 2016 and got through about 25 pages before it got lost in the shuffle and I eventually just returned it to the library. Not this time. I’ve heard many good things about this book and am determined to read it in its entirety.

 

Well that’s all for this month! Comment with books I should add to my 2017 reading list!

Leave a Reply

